Homeless World Cup 2016 , 51 Countries

       The Homeless World Cup is an annual football tournament organized by the Homeless World Cup organization, a social organization which advocates the end of homelessness through the sport of association football (or soccer).

The organization puts together an annual football tournament where teams of homeless people from each country compete.

The 48 men’s and 16 women’s sides will participate in a week-long celebration in the heart of Glasgow, from 10-16 July, which for the duration aims to be the, “most inspiring place on the planet.” In total 512 players will participate, each with a story to tell as they continue on a journey towards a more stable future. This year’s tournament is co-funded by the Scottish Government and Glasgow Life, with support from a range of partners.

As part of the team announcement, the rankings have been released which will be used to allocate a seeding pot for the draw, which takes place in May.



Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s